Search Search

Bacon Award

Offered biennially in the amount of $20,000, the Francis Bacon Award is bestowed on an outstanding scholar whose work continues to have a substantial impact in the history of science, history of technology, or historically engaged philosophy of science. The winner of the Bacon Award is invited to spend one term (10 weeks) as a visiting professor at Caltech to teach and lead a biennial conference that brings together the best younger and established scholars in the area of the Bacon Visiting Professor's specific interests.

The GR 100 conference honored the 2014 Bacon Award recipient, Jürgen Renn, Director at the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, for his influential studies of structural changes in systems of knowledge. In order to develop a theoretical understanding of knowledge evolution, Dr. Renn has published discussions and analyses of the origins of theoretical science in antiquity, the emergence of classical mechanics in the early modern period, and the revolutions of modern physics in the early twentieth century, including statistical mechanics, relativity, and the quantum.

Please direct questions about the Francis Bacon Award to:

Fran Tise
Secretary to the Bacon Committee
MC 101-40
California Institute of Technology
Pasadena, CA 91125

Previous Awardees

Lisa Jardine (2012), Centre for Editing Lives and Letters, University College London, Renaissance Studies

Myles Jackson (2010), Gallatin School, New York University, History of Science

Naomi Oreskes (2008), Professor of History and Science Studies, Department of History, UC San Diego

Alexander Jones (2006), Professor of the History of the Exact Sciences in Antiquity, NYU Institute for the Study of the Ancient World

Lawrence Principe (2004), Drew Professor of the Humanities, Director of the Charles Singleton Center for the Study of Pre-Modern Europe, Department of the History of Science and Technology, Johns Hopkins University

Previous Conferences

May 2014